top of page

Neurology!

This week I have been shadowing in the area of Neurology! An area I have a lot of interest in. The only problem is the fact that this hospital does not have any neurosurgery. That is ultimately what I am interested in. I have been watching a lot of exams but I believe that I want to be able to work on the brain. I am often asked why neurosurgery and oftentimes they say I just want to be Mc. Dreamy. Now that is not true at all. I believe that the brain is the one part of the human anatomy that still has so much to be discovered. I want to not only perform surgery (because I think some surgery could be intense and high adrenaline) but to research the brain. Just like some of the exams I have learned about this week I am sure there are even better ways to measure this or to see signs of something before we can now. I want that option to continually grow and expand and have to adapt to an ever changing field of medicine.

I have followed Dr. Rui and Dr. Fernandes so far this week. Dr. Fernandes seems like an awesome doctor very excited about his job. Dr. Rui is awesome too and very good at performing neuromuscular exams, however, he has a RBF that makes him seem mad all the time. I have followed Dr. Rui everyday so far and have honestly learned so much about this neuromuscular exam. I am very grateful for that. Other than that exam I have just been sitting in on consultations. One of the rough parts about being a neurologist here in Portugal is the fact that every 6 months any patient with and long term medication must come in to get another prescription. So 75% of the consultations are simply to get more medication. Something that does not happen in the U.S.

Other than that, on Monday Trip and I went to the beach to chill. We had a lot of fun. Trip did get sunburnt through and is still putting on aloe. Even though it is pretty cold here the sun is still very strong. The water is just a whole other level of cold. Like unbelievably cold. But these foreigners who do not know anything else are swimming in it like it's nothing. Blows my mind.

Than tonight Joao took us to another authentic Portugal place where we shard appetizers. Very similar to the ones we had last week. Ill attach some pictures in here so you can see exactly what we ate. I ate everything and absolutely loved it. Even the octopus salad and the caviar cod fish thing. Usually I am not a fan of anything from the sea but honestly the sea food here is just so fresh and they cook it and temper it so well. I would highly recommend the fish here in Portugal.

So far this week has been pretty calm. Nothing too exciting has been going on. Just something I noticed was how no doctor can type with more than just their index finger. I guess they didn't have typing classes like I did in middle school. Also, I have been working out everyday and running most days. I am trying to look good and fit for my wedding coming up here in 5 weeks. My fiance is killing her diet and I am over here at the bakery every morning for breakfast! (but totally worth it!)

bottom of page